MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

2018 Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner

Our annual recognition of members of our community who freely give of their time and talents in service to youth.

Established by the Boy Scouts of America, the Distinguished Citizen Award recognizes noteworthy and extraordinary leadership of citizens in communities across the United States. Honoring distinguished citizenship delivers a message to our youth that character counts. The lives of distinguished citizens put into place guideposts that serve to inspire our youth to lead, to accept responsibility, and to care about principles and causes beyond self-interest.

Last day to register online is May 3. After that please call Ron Chang during business hours (650) 341.5633.

Thursday, May 10, 2018, Begins 6:00pm (reception)
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport in Burlingame

Bill Graham portraitThe 2018 Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner, in honor of Bill Graham.

Bill Graham is the President of Dignity Health Sequoia Hospital in Redwood City. Bill has worked for Dignity Health (formerly Catholic Healthcare West) since 1992. Prior to his role as President, he served as both the Vice President of Physician and Business Development at Sequoia Hospital since 2001 and was appointed Chief Strategy Officer for the Dignity Health Bay Service Area in 2011. As President, Mr. Graham is responsible for overall management and strategic positioning of Dignity Health Sequoia Hospital, a not-for-profit community hospital providing innovative and exceptional health care to generations of Bay Area residents.

Sequoia’s Heart and Vascular Institute is a nationally known pioneer in advanced cardiac care, affiliated with the Cleveland Clinic Heart and Vascular Institute. The hospital’s Birth Center is consistently ranked as a favorite among Peninsula families. Sequoia’s Center for Total Joint Replacement is among the largest and highest quality programs in the Bay Area and the hospital’s comprehensive emergency care is known for it’s warm and comforting care for all generations.

Prior to assuming the role of President, Mr. Graham oversaw strategic planning, business development, and marketing for Sequoia Hospital, St. Mary’s Medical Center and Saint Francis Memorial Hospital in San Francisco, and Dominican Hospital in Santa Cruz. He was also accountable for development of physician integration strategies including expansion of the Dignity Health Medical Foundation and implementation of clinical integration strategies. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Marketing at Santa Clara University and has a Master of Public Health degree from San Jose State University.

Bill is a former Scoutmaster of Troop 42 in San Mateo.

Dr. William E. Moerner
Distinguished Eagle Scout 2017 Recipient

Portrait of Dr. W.E. Moerner W.E. Moerner was presented the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award (DESA) on April 30, 2017 in Foster City, CA. He will be honored at our Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner.

Established in 1969, this award acknowledges a very select group of Eagle Scouts who have gained status of fame or eminence in their chosen life work and have a strong record of voluntary service to their community. Only Eagle Scouts who earned the Eagle Scout rank a minimum of 25 years previously are eligible for nomination. Dr. Moerner received his Eagle in 1967 in Pleasanton, CA. The award is granted by the National Eagle Scout Association upon nomination by a local council and selection by a committee of nationally prominent Distinguished Eagle Scouts.

Past Distinguished Citizen Award recipients include: Bill Long, Wendy Young & Mark Convery, David & Lynn Mitchell, Bill Reller, Bill Floyd, Carol Mayer Marshall & Robert Beresford Williams, Allen Phipps, Franklin “Pitch” Johnson, Jr., and Rebecca (Becky) Morgan, among others.

Proceeds from the event help support the Pacific Skyline Council's ScoutReach program which provides opportunities for ALL youth, regardless of economic circumstance, neighborhood, or ethnicity to have an enriching and life-changing Scouting experience!

For over 100 years, the Boy Scouts of America has led the nation in providing citizenship training for American youth. Through the years, Scouting has provided young people with character development programs based on values found in the Scout Oath: duty to God, duty to country, duty to others, and duty to self. Today’s often-heard call for a return to ethical behavior, self-reliance, and caring and concern for others refers precisely to the values expressed in the Scout Law, the bedrock of the movement since 1910.

Copyright © 2018 Pacific Skyline Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®